ABOUT - News and Events


Pilgrim Theological College is governed by the Theological & Ministerial Education Committee (TMEC).

Through relationships within the church and wider academy Pilgrim promotes excellence and accountability in higher education and research. TMEC fulfills Pilgrim’s various institutional governance obligations, functioning as:

  • College Board within the University of Divinity
  • Ministerial Education Board (MEB) in line with National Uniting Church Assembly requirements
  • Oversight body accountable to the Standing Committee of the Synod of Victoria & Tasmania

The University of Divinity is registered by TEQSA as an Australian University. Through the University of Divinity Pilgrim faculty and students are part of a broader community of scholarship which promotes high quality teaching and learning.

Pilgrim is part of the Education & Formation for Leadership team within the equipping Leadership for Mission (eLM) unit of the Synod of Victoria & Tasmania. Working within eLM, Pilgrim supports the Synod of Victoria & Tasmania to resource, educate, and empower the wider church. This includes overseeing Uniting Church candidates for ordained ministry; working in close partnership with Presbyteries to support candidates through their formation.

TMEC Members

  • Prof Harmen Oppewal — Chairperson (acting)
  • Rev Assoc Prof Robyn Whitaker — Head of College (acting)
  • Mr Ramchhanthanga — UCA Candidates’ Association Representative
  • Rev Duncan Macleod — Executive Officer, eLM
  • Rev Assoc Prof Monica Melanchthon — Pilgrim Faculty
  • Rev Caro Field
  • Rev Lauren Mosso
  • Assoc Prof Paul Chandler
  • Dr Kate Scull
  • Mr Siotame Faupula
  • Rev Alex Sangster
  • Mrs Catherine Xenos - Secretary
cropped favicon - footer

Pilgrim Theological College is committed to Keeping People Safe.

To view the Synod of Victoria and Tasmania’s Keeping Children Safe policies and procedures, please visit the Synod's Safe Church website.